{
    uniform float red;
};

out vec4 FragColor;

void main()
{
    FragColor = vec4(red, 0, 0, 1);
}

On an ATI Radeon HD 5870 with Catalyst 10.4, glGetActiveUniformBlockName(program, 0, …) returns “” instead of “RedBlock.” Although, calls to glGetActiveUniformBlock(program, 0, …) return correct data. I am fairly new to UBOs so I may be doing something wrong but this code works on the NVIDIA cards I tried.

Regards,
Patrick

How do you know that it is uniform block index 0?

I called GetProgramiv with ACTIVE_UNIFORM_BLOCKS and it returned one. Perhaps, I’ve misunderstood glGetActiveUniformBlockName in the spec but I thought that meant the uniform block must be at index zero:

uniformBlockIndex must be an active uniform block index of program, in the range zero to the value of ACTIVE_UNIFORM_BLOCKS - 1. The value of ACTIVE_-UNIFORM_BLOCKS can be queried with GetProgramiv…

If there is another way I should be querying uniform blocks, I’d be happy to do it.

Here’s my code (C#/OpenTK):

private static UniformBlockCollection FindUniformBlocks(int program)
{
    int numberOfUniformBlocks;
    GL.GetProgram(program, ProgramParameter.ActiveUniformBlocks, out numberOfUniformBlocks);

UniformBlockCollection uniformBlocks = new UniformBlockCollection();
    for (int i = 0; i < numberOfUniformBlocks; ++i)
    {
        string uniformBlockName = GL.GetActiveUniformBlockName(program, i);

int uniformBlockSizeInBytes;
        GL.GetActiveUniformBlock(program, i, ActiveUniformBlockParameter.UniformBlockDataSize, out uniformBlockSizeInBytes);

int numberOfUniformsInBlock;
        GL.GetActiveUniformBlock(program, i, ActiveUniformBlockParameter.UniformBlockActiveUniforms, out numberOfUniformsInBlock);

int[] uniformIndicesInBlock = new int[numberOfUniformsInBlock];
        GL.GetActiveUniformBlock(program, i, ActiveUniformBlockParameter.UniformBlockActiveUniformIndices, uniformIndicesInBlock);