Anamorphosis?

Hi,

I’m interested in generating anamorphosis images like this from a 3D model:

http://www.rense.com/1.imagesH/artt5.jpg

So the idea would be to take a standard model-view/projection transform and alter it to achieve this effect. The result would be, for example, that looking at the final projection in 2D straight on would show the 3D objects stretched out but looking at it at some extreme angle would show them undistorted and in perspective.

Conceptually it seems like I want to do a perspective transformation but instead of via a frustum with a front face perpendicular to the viewer, it would be slanted at some angles on the x and y axes (assuming a view down the z axis).

It doesn’t seem like this is terribly innovative but I can’t seem to find any examples of people doing this. I’m quite new to this stuff so maybe it’s called something other than anamorphosis?

I did some math and I’ve come up with the equations for the projection in a simple case of just tilting the top edge of the front of the frustum (or whatever that volume is called after such an operation) away from the viewer. I’d like to add it to the list of transformations that OpenGL is going to do but I’m having trouble converting them to matrix form. They look like this:

x’ = x * n * tan(a) / ( y + z * tan(a) )
y’ = n * tan(a) / ( sin(a) * ( y / z + tan(a) )
z’ = n * tan(a) / ( y / z + tan(a) )

where the viewer is at (0,0,0) looking down the positive z-axis. n is where the project plane crosses the z axis and a is the tilt or the angle between this plane and the z-axis. Can anyone give me a pointer as to how to convert this to matrix form? It’s looking non-linear to me so I’m kind of suspicious if it’s possible?