shadows? Best way and advise on "pauls projects"?

Hi, firstly im wanting to give shadows a go. And after lots of “googling” im now a little confused.

What is the current best way or most common used way of shadows? “real-time” if i dare? :slight_smile: I would have thought using shaders? But cant find much on that soim not sure?

another good question would also be (from a beginners POV) what would be the best way to have a go at first?

I thought about this one (im sure you have seen it before) its hte “pauls projects” one. http://www.paulsprojects.net/tutorials/smt/smt.html
Is that a real-time one? As in if there is a rotating object the shadows are also updated? Its just at the start it seems he has some rotating objects?

Bascially, im still classing myself as a beginner, and im wanting to have a go at shadows.

Thanks
Andy

I’m also a beginner and know nothing about shadows right now but I’m reading the red book and its doing a good job teaching me OpenGl, so I recommend this section of the book that deals with Shadows.

Again I did not read it myself and so do not know if it’s the best way to start. Anyway, I believe shadow is a fairly “hard” topic to start with so good luck :slight_smile:

http://www.glprogramming.com/red/chapter14.html#name15

The tricky thing about shadows is when rendering an object, you have to have information of other objects in your scene similar to ray tracing to see if it’s blocking the light. The two most popular ways of providing shadows are shadow maps and shadow volumes.

Shadow maps are depth textures rendered from the light’s point of view and with a reprojection a surface you’re shading can see if something is between in and the light. There are a lot of different methodologies on filtering these so they don’t look blocky. They’re the de facto way to do shadows interactively.