Book about shaders?

I don’t know anything about shaders, but i will learn. Which book do you recommend me to buy?

I’m looking to buy the Opengl Shading Language one, but i’m not sure because it says for OpenGl 2.0. Maybe anyone knows a book that talks about opengl 3.0 shaders or greater?

Thanks!

Sure! OpenGL Shading Language 3rd Edition!

yeah! but, this book explains the last implementation of GLSL? or only 3.2?

Well i am pretty new at this but the opengl 3.2 shaders are the same that opengl 4.0 ones?

:slight_smile:

GLSL 1.4 (GL 3.1).

Yes there have been GLSL 1.5, 3.3, and 4.0 since then, but none of these is a rewrite – just some extra goodies added.

GLSL 1.2->1.3 was the biggest leap for basic workhorse shaders (vertex and fragment), because it deprecated nearly all the legacy “built-in identifiers”. And that’s covered by the book.

Well i am pretty new at this but the opengl 3.2 shaders are the same that opengl 4.0 ones?

Yeah pretty much the same, if your talking the workhorse shaders (vertex and fragment).

Of course, GLSL 1.5 added geometry shaders, and GLSL 4.0 adds the tessellation shaders. But learn vertex and fragment shaders first and then the rest will make a lot more sense. Bottom line, the Orange book is still a good starting point.
Also don’t forget the OpenGL wiki and on-line GLSL tutorials.

What GPU do you have? You may not even care about some of these newer features yet if your GPU doesn’t support them.

I have The Orange Book and highly recommend it.

I agree with Dark Photon. Don’t worry too much about doing things however the latest/greatest spec deems it. I don’t think there are any drivers out yet which can do 3.3/4.0 yet anyway. Not to mention that nvidia’s sm5-capable cards have only just been announced and amazon/newegg have only just started taking preorders. I guess if you have an ATI HD 5000 series…:wink: