Using a PBO to create a binary mask representing

Hi,

I am new to OpenGL. I need to copy the data from the framebuffer to the CPU to perform computations on the pixels. In fact all I want to do is to create a binary matrix having the same dimensions as the framebuffer for which the bixel values are 1.0 for pixels which are (rendered) coloured and 0.0 for those not. In essence I use this to know whether the pixel is inside (1.0) or outside (0.0) a polyhedron rendered in an uniform colour. Typically the matrix is 400x400 pixels.
Once I have this matrix I want to determine an aperture which best fits the polyhedron, where the aperture consists of two banks of moveable leaves (in X-direction) of a finite thickness 4-10pixels(mm).

I have done some reading around the subject and the consensus seems to be to use a PBO , to avoid the performance penalty of glPixelRead().

Is a PBO the best method to achieve this?

Is there a simple test to verify whether my graphics card supports a PBO? If not what alternatives are there to a PBO? VBO? FBO?

Any assistance would be gratefully received.

Thanks

Mark

Even with PBO the efficiency of framebuffer readback is very limited. If you really want to have performance, then stick to fragment shaders instead.

PBO in this case has its drawbacks as even if the actual read from the framebuffer to the pixel buffer is much faster than copying to host memory, and it’s also done asynchronously, the problem is in order to have access to the data with CPU you would need to do one of the following with the resulting PBO:

• get the data back with GetBufferData, but then you still need that additional copying from GPU to host memory, of course it is still faster than direct framebuffer readback.
  • map the pixel buffer and work directly in GPU address space, but it is very implementation dependent whether this has any performance benefits compared to the previous ones, maybe it’s even slower.