Developer search for OpenSource Game Engine GEAR

Hi.

I’m a student from germany (Weimar). Currently i’m writing on a game engine based on OpenGL. The name of the Project is GEAR which means “Game Engine Andy Reinamm”.

For my project I’m currently searching for interested developers which have good practice in writing C++ code and OpenGL code.

The game engine is object oriented and based on a Scene Graph implementation. Axis aligned Bounding Box calculation is already implemented as well as basic shapes like a box, a plane and a SkyDome. More will follow (heightmap, particle systems…). I’m very comitted to write efficient OpenGL code which runs very fast on the GPU, because one of my next projects in the next weeks will be to implement a milion particle system which is already under development and test. This is a project which will be part of my Bachelor in the university.

Requirements for the project:

• [li]good C++ practice[]good OpenGL practise[]writing tidy and efficient code (+documentation)[]good ideas[]interested

Notes:

• [li]Platform is currently only windows (could be ported to linux later)[]Development with Visual Studio[]Source on SVN[*]OpenGL based on SDL

Hopefully there are any developers here which are interested in OpenGL and learning as well as in C++.

Up to now I already have a very well documented interface as an doxygen documentation online: Doxygen Documentation - GEAR
Note that only the code in the NameSpace GEAR is already part of the engine. The other stuff is still not added to the engine.

In the next few days I will create a wiki and the next milestone will be to create and write a few basic tutorials about how to use the interface to create basic stuff like camera movement and simple Meshes.

Documentation is the part i will take care as much as possible.

So its up to you to join the team :slight_smile:
In the background i have a designer which has good practice in creating textures and so on.