Problem with glu / confusion with void, int main

Hi

I’m new to this forum and I’m learning C++ and OpenGL. I’m using Windows XP, texteditor, latest GCC and Gnu Make versions. While I’ve got basic knowledge of C++ (or even less), OpenGL is completely new to me.
I’m following this tutorial (http://www.lighthouse3d.com/opengl/glut/index.php?3), which is, by the way, very good.

But I’m puzzled about two things:

1. In the tutorial the main function is written as void:

void main(int argc, char **argv) {

But my gcc compiler gives errors here: “‘main’ must return ‘int’” and “return type for ‘main’ changed to ‘int’”.

I then changed the function into int:

int main(int argc, char **argv) {

Why can’t I have void there?

1. If I compile my code with that changed line I get zero errors. But when I try to run the compiled .exe file I get a windows error:
    The application failed to initialize properly - 0xc0000005
    |OK|

When I comment the lines

gluPerspective(45,ratio,1,1000);

and

gluLookAt(0.0,0.0,5.0, 
0.0,0.0,-1.0,
0.0f,1.0f,0.0f);

the error doesn’t occur anymore, but the window has bugs while resizing. Is this error a problem with the glu library?
I’m using the following makefile:

# A simple Makefile
# C++ using GNU Make and GCC
# opengl32.lib glut32.lib glu32.lib odbc32.lib odbccp32.lib

myprogram.exe : myfile.cpp
	gcc myfile.cpp -Wall -lopengl -lglu -lglut32

this is my code:

/* hallo.c */

#include <windows.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

#include <GL/gl.h>
#include <GL/glu.h>
#include <GLUT/glut.h>

using namespace std;

void renderScene(void) {
	glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
	glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);
		glVertex3f(-0.5,-0.5,0.0);
		glVertex3f(0.5,0.0,0.0);
		glVertex3f(0.0,0.5,0.0);
	glEnd();
	glFlush();
}
void changeSize(int w, int h) {

// Prevent a divide by zero, when window is too short
	// (you cant make a window of zero width).
	if(h == 0)
		h = 1;

float ratio = 1.0* w / h;

// Reset the coordinate system before modifying