Billboard Shader Issues

Hi there. I am a GLSL newbie and I’m building my first serious project- a GPU-driven particle system using multiple FBOs to do physics processing and some other stuff.

I have had all of it working for nearly two weeks now… on nVidia hardware. But I’m having massive problems with HD-series Radeons.

Problems:

1. Originally, I wanted to just use GL_POINTS and point-sprites.

This worked just fine on nVidia, but on ATi hardware, it seems to bork. The texture coordinates keep getting lost somehow.

Reading a bit on here, it appears that that this is a problem people are familiar with, so I was hoping maybe somebody knows what fixed-function stuff or GLSL I need to have set up before I submit my display list to the fragment shader to actually have it work as planned, or some magic combination of things I need to do within the vertex shader to pass the correct data to the fragment shader.

1. The second problem’s more embarrassing, and I hope people don’t think too badly of me for having this problem, but I am a newbie in a lot of ways, and this problem turned out to be a gotcha.

I wrote an alternative workaround to just use quads instead, and billboard them in the final vertex shader, but I can’t seem to get the final rotation to billboard it right. I’ve read a lot of tutorials and looked at a lot of source, and it’s still not working, the matrix I supply doesn’t result in the right behaviors.

Anyhow, I apologize for the wall of text, but I wanted to make sure people understand what I’m trying to do, and where it’s going wrong. Here’s the full source of the vertex shader, both the point version and the quad version. The rest of it has been repeatedly verified to be operating properly- particle birth, death, motion simulation, etc. is all performed elsewhere in the code.