GLSL: a few questions about sampler3d

Hi,
Im new here to this forums.
I appologize, if my questions are too rudimentary for the advanced threads.

My hope is to contact anyone familliar with 3d side of the GLSL language, and whom has time to answer a few GLSL questions, as i come across “issues”.
I am trying to make a 3d shader library of GLSL(.vert .frag) programs.
My current shader project is “flowing fur” in 3d, on a sphere.
The image i attached to this message shows the effect in action.

My Project, Where:
Im a newbie with using uniform sampler3d in GLSL.
Hardware for GLSL is version 1.20
Defining a 3d texture file in a .frag using: uniform sampler3D FurDirection;
I need to make a new .dds file, or use a prexisting one named NoiseVolume.dds

The 3d texture must be 128x128x128
Mipmap levels = 8
Origin Top/Left

Please answer any/all Questions concerning sampler3d:

1. How can i write the shader to call the file directly without using “uniform”, like this: sampler3d filename?
  2. What is a .dds file?
  3. How do i make 3d textures for uniform sampler3d FurDirection; ?
  4. What formats aside from .dds does GLSL #Version 1.20 support for the 3d textures?
  5. Are the .dds files convertable from any main stream 3d graphics editors?(if yes, which?)

General questions about GLSL:
6. Are there any other main forums threads where i can find more information about GLSL, or is this the right place?
7. In the event that my new thread is in the wrong place, Can a mod move my new thread to a more appropriate place?

-Thank you in advance,
-Hemlos

GLSL doesn’t actually know about files on the disk. All the data that shaders deal with is passed to it through OpenGL function calls. I wouldn’t say that GLSL supports any file formats, as it is not conerned with what is on the disk. There are different formats of the data that can be passed into a shader that OpenGL knows how to handle. These are listed in the specification (I don’t recall what they are right now).