PDA

View Full Version : NVIDIA cards and RGB10_A2



Alfonse Reinheart
09-29-2009, 09:06 PM
I know that GL 3.x requires that the RGB10_A2 format is supported for textures and renderbuffers.

However, I've found that I'm unable to create default framebuffers with RGB10_A2 on NVIDIA cards. That is, I can't get a pixel format that uses RGB10_A2. Is it just that NVIDIA cards can't handle using such formats for the default framebuffer (ATI cards are supposed to be able to do this), or is it something else?

elFarto
09-30-2009, 12:49 AM
It probably only shows up when you have a 10-bit display attached via a DisplayPort connection. You'll also need a Quadro card. Here (http://www.nvidia.com/docs/IO/40049/TB-04701-001_v02_new.pdf)'s NVIDIA document on it.

Regards
elFarto

skynet
09-30-2009, 12:53 AM
I have used this format for offscreen FBOs successfully.
Maybe its just that RGB10_A2 is a non-displayable format on nVidia, so you can't use it for windows (thats what you refer to by 'default' framebuffer, don't you?).
On FireGL/FirePro cards, you can enable 10bit formats in the chaos control center, but I have never tried to open a displayed window in this format.

MalcolmB
09-30-2009, 09:19 AM
I've been able to create RGB10A2 on Nvidia as a displayable format, but it was on a Quadro. I was able to do it with only a DVI cable used also. So it may just require a Quadro.

Alfonse Reinheart
09-30-2009, 10:34 AM
That's unfortunate. Oh well.

barthold
10-05-2009, 10:41 AM
It probably only shows up when you have a 10-bit display attached via a DisplayPort connection. You'll also need a Quadro card. Here (http://www.nvidia.com/docs/IO/40049/TB-04701-001_v02_new.pdf)'s NVIDIA document on it.

Regards
elFarto

Elfarto is correct. You can only create a 30 bit visual on a Quadro with display port and you'll need a 30 bit capable monitor.

Note you should be able to create 30 bit renderbuffers for off-screen rendering on Quadro and Geforce.

Barthold
(with my NVIDIA hat on)