Quad vs Tri ??

Hello,

in gl it’s not recommended to use quads to render, because a quad will decompose to two triangles, right? [from Q&A 14.080 of http://www.opengl.org/resources/faq/technical/rasterization.htm]

however, in most 3D modeling software, the quads domain it.
and why??

thank you very much

Do they? I am not that experienced with lots of 3D modellers being a dumb programmer, but I thought Triangle meshes was what most of them put out?

In any case your understanding is mostly correct.
On Open GL ES and OpenGL3.x onwards QUADS are deprecated. In any case AFAIK the HW always used to convert QUADs to Triangles even before that.SO even when we worked with QUADs they would be made into Triangles prior to rendering.

Switching to triangles on the client side doesn’t actually cost you any more in programming terms. It’s as simple as swapping a couple of Indices or vertices, but it does ensure that all the geometry produced is valid. It’s possible to make QUADs that are not planar, where as that is not the case with Triangles.

I suspect that if the modelling apps you use work with QUADs it’s a convenience to the designer, but it’s actually working in triangles and constructing the QUADs behind the scenes for you… But I am not an expert on modelling software. :slight_smile:

With quads it’s easy for the artist to subdivide. If you have a triangle among your quads, it can introduce nasty artifacts.
But also, when you bevel or extrude, you’d want to have coplanar multi-vertex polygons, optionally with holes in them.

In the end, it’s gotta be converted to triangles, or tris+quads and make sure the poly with 4+ points are coplanar or manually split them into tris.

in mudbox/maya, they use quads. and the subdivision surface algorithm for quads are more popular than triangles in modeling and animation.
an digital artist said they use quads only.
the reason is quad is more friend to texturing ???

btw,