Fill between lines?

Hello,
I am relatively new in the OpenGL scene, so I went straight for the beginner section…

I use OpenGL to code a scientific visualization piece of software… mostly 2D visu for now

I stumbled upon an issue when trying to implement a line fill type of plotting ability (something of this type: http://gnuplot.sourceforge.net/demo_4.3/fillbetween.1.png)

Of course I am thinking of writing an algorithm to map this space with triangles…but I am sure this is a classic task, some maybe there something ready-made for this?

I was wondering if a fragment shader would help…change the color of something based on where they lie in space? something like that…

On a similar topic, if I want to draw 1000 lines (filled) of 5000 points… I calculate roughly that I would need 7.5 millions triangles…

I see in the technical spec of my card (quadro fx1700) that it can render 191 millions triangles/sec, does that mean that
that I can render my scene 25 times / sec at max = rendering that scene would take 1/25 sec…?

Thanks for any answer! :slight_smile:

There are libs able to fill triangles from edges, I played with “triangle” lib which is simple for simple things, and can do more complex things :
http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~quake/triangle.html

However if “lie between” has the same number of points for low and high lines, it is very easy to build a triangle strip :
tri 0 : take 2 first high points, then 0th low
tri 1 : take 2 first low points, then 1st low
…etc…

About performance, the theorical performance is a maximum, under optimal conditions, so actual perf will be below that.

Does your data evolves over time, or do you only need to navigate around a fixed graph ?

Thanks for the link…it look it would do what I want…
I’ll see if I figure out how to use it…

For this case I agree, but my case is more like:
imagine a noisy line centered around a zero value, part of line above zero must be filled with white, part below with black…