How to keep my passion alive for OpenGL

Hi Experts,

I am learning OpenGL as a passion. I have been working on .net platform for last 4-5 years and I am learning OpenGl as an interest.

I have no prior experience in game development and I want to learn basics of it. I am currently learning OpenGL from OpenGl super bible (second edition). At present i am finishing one chapter per week.

I am really worried about what will happen when I finish this book, I really want to try something so that I can apply my learnings.

My question for experience guys outhere is what all interesting things (game developmment, contests…) I can try to keep my passion alive for opengl.

Any pointers will be greatly appreciated.

“one chapter per week”, “what will happen when I finish this book” - I seriously doubt your “passion” about OpenGL. People don’t study it just for the heck of it, they study it to learn how to produce those shiny lovable pixels. Avert your passion onto pixels, see stuff in games that you want to recreate. Remake some game that you like.
1 chapter per week is extremely slow. Furthermore, modern pixels require modern OpenGL. Dive into all OpenGL knowledge available on the net, learn to filter-out stuff that is no longer supported. If you look at the docs of OpenGL3.2, you’ll see what is no longer supported (for a reason).

1: make a first-person camera, to walk around a world, like in a FPS game
2: make that into a TPS
3: start adding eye-candy
4: add animation
5: add collision-detection and response
6: start adding interactions between player-character and world
7: add more eye-candy

1. even more eye-candy
  2. still not enough eye-candy
  3. now try making it fast

:confused: what is eye candy in terms opengl?
is it means very attractive beautiful(yahoo answers

If a girl likes a guy, she’ll say, “ooo! eyecandy!” meaning, “wow! he’s very attractive.”
).
is there special meaning of eyecandy in opengl.

thanks in advance
apologies for duplicate and abused words