Catching up to cuda?

Does anyone know if, in the future, OpenGL will be able to harness more of the full unified GPU core computing capability on NVidia GPU’s that Cuda claims to do?

I’ve been writing imaging applications with OpenGL for 3 years. I’m getting a lot of crap from development partners about how great Cuda is!

I’ve reviewed the Cuda 2.2 user guide, and it looks great if you want to calculate the answer to LIFE, the UNIVERSE, and EVETYTHING in a few microseconds, but it doesn’t seem to be designed for graphics at all. Where is all the texture formatting for file format input/output? Where is the drawing code and geometry scaling? You have to do it all yourself!!!

I WANT MY OPENGL!!!

If you read the CUDA specification, you have to find out that it is a GPGPU API. Its purpose is not to draw graphical primitives but to use GPU for general purpose computation. There is also OpenCL, which should be friendlier for collaboration with OpenGL. The data should be shared through buffers, and the new API alleviates those data sharing.

So is it a reasonable solution to do 90% of my coding with OpenGL and share buffer data with Cuda or OpenCL as a more efficient alternative to using shaders for maximizing unified multi-core GPU’s? Do you think I’d be better of waiting for OpenCL to become more defined?

Thanks, Rennie.

I’m not sure that I have understood this question correctly. OpenCL is not a replacement for OpenGL. If you can do your calculations in shaders, there is no reason for switching to some GPGPU API. But, if there is some calculation that had to be done on CPU, and if that task can be divided into tens or hundreds of parallel tasks, then GPGPU API is something that can boost up the speed. In any case, I suggest you to try to find answers from more competent programmers for GPGPU. There are many interesting forums. For example:

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showforum=62 - for CUDA