Swapping green channels on graphics card output

Hello everyone,

for a university project I need to display the green channel of output 1 of the graphic card on output 2 and vice versa (on a NVidia GeForce 8600 GT). We’ve already tried to use a component cable and simply swap the green cable, but this introduces synchronisation problems we were not able to solve, so now we’re trying to find a software solution. Is there a way to grab the screen’s contents, swap the green channels and display the altered content? Since I’m quite new to OpenGL programming, every help will be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance and best regards,
Honki-Bobo

Your easiest answer is to use a dual head graphics card with both outputs set to the same res. Then use two adaptors to get VGA (not component) and switch the greens - you should be fine.

In OpenGL, it would have to be a program you control - I don’t think you can do it externally, but then you could switch color channels with a shader. You would either need to draw each screen to a buffer (FBO) then access both to pick the right channels, or draw the scene twice on each output - once for green, once for red & blue.

Bruce

Hello Bruce,

thanks for your reply.
The NVidia GeForce 8600 GT is a dual head graphic card and both outputs are set to the same resolution (1024 x 768 @ 75 Hz). The component cable we’ve used simply takes the signals from the dvi2vga connector and splits them up to red, green, blue, h.sync and v.sync on bnc connectors, so we already use vga output. Both outputs on the graphic card seem to have their own signal clock, even when using the same resolution, and the NVidia driver unfortunately doesn’t allow you to sync both outputs.