Rectangular and npot textures

hey everybody, sorry for raising this chestnut, but i’m new to GLSL and so much has been said about this in the past that i’m still confused.

basically, if i’m using OpenGL 2.0 or higher, and effectively targeting nvidia cards, i can simply create a texture of arbitrary dimensions using GL_TEXTURE_2D and access it in a shader using texture2D, and there is no need to use GL_TEXTURE_RECTANGLE_NV or similar, and no need to use texture2DRect or similar, and no need to worry about texture coordinates not being normalised.

and finally, there is no efficiency gain in explicitly specifying a rectangular or npot texture.

is that correct?

cheers.

No.

OpenGL implementations version 2.0 and greater require have NPOT functionality. However, any efficiency gains that texture rectangles might or might not have is an entirely different matter.

NVIDIA above all has been pushing for the retention of texture rectangles, even while supporting regular NPOT. In contrast, ATI doesn’t much care for them and prefers NPOT directly. So there may be some efficiency gains from using texture rectangles, possibly if used as render targets or the like.

thankyou Alfonse,

some more questions…

…does your ‘No’ refer to the second part of my question only, regarding efficiency?

i guess what i’m asking is whether there is any practical difference between a texture2D and a texture2DRect, and i take your comments to mean that nvidia are reserving the right to optimize the latter. (i understand there’s some concern with nvidia exerting undue influence on the standard, but i’m not really in a position to care about that.)

also, whats the difference between a ‘texture rectangle’ and a regular NPOT?

and finally, does there remain any practical difference between a default texture2D initialized with arbitrary dimensions and an npot?

… also, can i assume these limitations still hold?