fast transfer of video frames into graphics card

Hi Everybody,

I am new to OpenGL, but I had written a couple of video drivers in embedded systems where I had direct access to video frame buffer.

Right now, all I want is to have fast transfer of video frames into the graphics card.

The hardware is a standard PC with a dual core CPU and most probably with a NVIDIA graphics card. The application will run on both windows and linux. The user interface framework is choosen as Qt.

Due to portability issues (Linux and Windows), I want to use OpenGL through the Qt QGLWidget classes.

I will not perform any 3D fancy stuff. All I need is:

1. Fast transfer of video frames into the graphics card.
    (The target is 16 video windows which are bombarded with 640x480@25fps video streams. This means 400 frames per second.

2. The scaling of these images into smaller windows. This should be performed on the GPU (graphix processor) if possible.

So I need a fast frame transfer (bitblt) and scaling.

I tried a few things with Qt QGLWidget and PBOs but the result is ugly. One video window consuming almost 30 - 45% of the CPU.

So I need some advice maybe some article, tutorial or code samples to start with.

Unfortunately, most of OpenGL tutorials are concentrated on 3D drawing features of the OpenGL.

My first stab at this would be to try and do some kind of streaming…

I found this to be a nice article on that…
http://www.songho.ca/opengl/gl_pbo.html#unpack

Specifically…

The texture sources are written directly on the mapped pixel buffer every frame in the PBO modes. Then, these data are transferred from the PBO to a texture object using glTexSubImage2D(). By using PBO, OpenGL can perform asynchronous DMA transfer between a PBO and a texture object. It significantly increases the texture upload performance. If asynchronous DMA transfer is supported, glTexSubImage2D() should return immediately, and CPU can process other jobs without waiting the actual texture copy.