Why OpenGL is so dynamic?

Hello

I’m wondering why OpenGL is so dynamic, and not a bit more static like CPU programming (C, C++…).

With static programming, you can use a compiler, either to make an executable running faster, either to check errors in your code.

For example, I don’t understand why, if I want to use a 2D texture in a program, I need to call glEnable(GL_TEXTURE2D), and if I don’t, nobody can tell me if I did something wrong…
The only result will be no texture in my scene, and if I’m not an opengl expert, it will take at least 10 minutes to find the bug…

OpenGL is so long and so hard to debug. I may be a novice but I think that using a bit more static programming could make openGL less painful and easier to use…

Maybe I’m missing something. So my question is: Do you know why the designers of OpenGL did these choices?

Thank you!

I do not think this applies only to OpenGL.
For example, in C++ if you don’t initialize variable or worse - initialize it with wrong value in constructor, then depending on complexity of your program it still can take ten minutes or even hours to debug and find this problem. Not even mentioning various memory problems in C/C++.
It’s just how programming is.

The reason is that OpenGL is a complex, ugly state machine. The original OpenGL 3.0 proposal replaced the state machine by immutable objects, which would function similar your idea.

While OpenGL 3.0 didn’t deliver on that proposal, the new, “forward-compatible” API is much better in this regard: it reduces available state (no need to enable/disable lighting, texturing etc, no “current” matrices etc etc) and provides a cleaner and more sane API. EXT_direct_state_access builds on top of this and improves the current bind/modify/unbind API by removing the need to bind/unbind.

your never gonna get all the kinks out of it just because there is so many things you could do, and as Stephen said forward-compatible mode fixes things.