PDA

View Full Version : Vista and Glut



Question
06-03-2009, 06:46 PM
Can anyone tell me if you can use glut with Windows Vista 64 bit? If yes what do I have to do to make it work, I am using Visual C++ Express.

matchStickMan
06-03-2009, 08:19 PM
Hi Question,

You do not really mention what issue you are facing with Vista64 and Glut. Are you getting a black screen when you are running glut-based programs? If yes, do disable Aero. Cos I have that issue once.

If you're having other issues, let me know. then we'll gladly help you. :)

Question
06-04-2009, 10:39 AM
I am trying to compile a simple program
#include <gl/glut.h>

void main(int argc, char **argv) {
glutInit(&argc, argv);
glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_DEPTH | GLUT_SINGLE | GLUT_RGBA);
glutInitWindowPosition(100,100);
glutInitWindowSize(320,320);
glutCreateWindow("3D Tech- GLUT Tutorial");
}

it compiles but when I try to run it I get

02328640()
atioglxx.dll!690d224d()
[Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for atioglxx.dll]
atioglxx.dll!690d2272()
atioglxx.dll!690d2c13()
atioglxx.dll!694f1e20()
atioglxx.dll!69365ed6()
atioglxx.dll!69044e31()
opengl32.dll!64cbd847()
atioglxx.dll!69034a3f()
opengl32.dll!64cbd86b()
atioglxx.dll!69034ab4()
atioglxx.dll!69037361()
atioglxx.dll!6934ee64()
atioglxx.dll!6905ccad()
atioglxx.dll!69045061()
atioglxx.dll!69045280()
atioglxx.dll!6904821e()
atioglxx.dll!6910a8fa()
atioglxx.dll!6903a8f9()
atioglxx.dll!69042e27()
atioglxx.dll!690091bd()
opengl32.dll!64cba6ff()
opengl32.dll!64cba8cb()
glut32.dll!1000aa05()
glut32.dll!1000b6de()
glut32.dll!1000b820()
glut32.dll!1000b8b4()
> cube.exe!glutCreateWindow_ATEXIT_HACK(const char * title=0x0108573c) Line 503 + 0x30 bytes C++
cube.exe!main(int argc=1, char * * argv=0x00ed3f78) Line 9 C++
cube.exe!__tmainCRTStartup() Line 586 + 0x19 bytes C
cube.exe!mainCRTStartup() Line 403 C
kernel32.dll!75ce3823()
ntdll.dll!7702a9bd()

I have programmed in opengl for a long time but now I am trying to switch to vista

matchStickMan
06-04-2009, 08:29 PM
Ok i think I've got bad news for you. I was looking at your output and the thing that struck me was glut32.dll

That 32 appended to glut seems to suggest that it's meant to run on 32 bit systems.

I did a simple google search and I came across this page:

http://www.opengl.org/resources/libraries/glut/glut_downloads.php


In it, it says:

"Because GLUT is window system independent (as much as possible), GLUT can be implemented for window systems other than X. Implementations of GLUT for OS/2, NT & Windows 95, and the Mac have ben implemented, but only the Win32 and X11 versions are part of the official GLUT source code distrbution."

So what I think you need to do is find an unofficial build for glut 64 build.


Also check out this previous post:

http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=220142


You might find it useful.

matchStickMan
06-04-2009, 08:38 PM
Ok I found something really useful for you.

Try this:

http://www.idfun.de/glut64/

I hope this helps. :)