Which package is the right one?

Hi,
i am a real beginner to opengl. But i am familiar with C and C++.

I am using Ubuntu 9.04, and i wondered which package i need to get the OpenGL libs and headers?
I have a new intel on board graphic chip. I think intel series 4 or something like that.

Is libgl1 or libgl1-mesa the right one?

There are so much packages, what is the “dev” standing for? And do i need the dri packages too?

By the way another question: Is it possible to use OpenGL together with Trolltechs Qt? How complicated is it to use OGL with X11? Or should i use glut?

My first aim is to create a very simple but 3D strategy game.

Greetings, Rain

In a general sense :

1. the -dev packages are needed for development, as the name implies : header (.h), static libraries, …
  2. the non-dev are for running programs already compiled with 1). They provides dynamic libraries, configuration, sometimes data (such as icons etc).
  3. the -dev packages depend on non-dev, so :
  • on a fresh system, installing only non-dev will allow running programs, but not compiling from source.
  • on a fresh system, installing only -dev will also installl non-dev, and allow both compiling and running.

By default you should already have Gl libs, in stalled by non-dev packages. But you need the -dev versions.
Check the installed packages named libgl*, and get the -dev versions with same name.

You have to know that installing GL dev package is fairly independent of installing GL hardware optimized drivers. Both should be done though.

If your already know very well your Qt, you can go with it for GL.
Otherwise, get freeglut(-dev) and use glut, as it is very simple and a lot of tutorial use it. Later when you feel more confident, it will be easy to move on something that allow lower level windowing management.

By default you should already have Gl libs, in stalled by non-dev packages.

They should be in /usr/include/GL or not?