Seeking advice for transfer data to GPU

Hi guys!

I am a student and quite new to OpenGL, and this is my first post. I am currently trying to develop a multithreading application (with queueing mechanism) to play YUV video files.
The first and second threads are reading and processing the file, while the third contains the openGL (with freeglut) to render it.

The second thread provides the input data in a buffer for each frame, to be handle then by the 3rd thread. The buffer structure is “y, u, v, y, u, v,…” and so on. The YUV to RGB conversion is done in the shader (cg).

At first i tried to transfer data to GPU in a normal way :

//init method
DATA_SIZE = width * height * 3;
tempBuffer = (GLubyte *) calloc(sizeof(GLubyte),DATA_SIZE);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, g_textureID[0]);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_REPEAT);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_REPEAT);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, 3, width, height, 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, tempBuffer);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0);	
free(tempBuffer);

//display method, called each frame
glClear (GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
glMatrixMode (GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity ();
glTranslatef (0, 0, g_zoom);	
gluLookAt( moveX, moveY, moveZ, g_scroll_X, g_scroll_Y, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0 );
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, g_textureID[0]);	
glTexSubImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D,0,0,0,width,height,GL_RGB,GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, colorBuffer);
glBegin (GL_QUADS);
	glTexCoord2f (0.0f,0.0f); 
	glVertex3f (-10.0f, -10.0f, 0.0f);
	glTexCoord2f (1.0f, 0.0f);
	glVertex3f (10.0f, -10.0f, 0.0f);
	glTexCoord2f (1.0f,  1.0f);
	glVertex3f (10.0f, 10.0f, 0.0f);
	glTexCoord2f (0.0f,1.0f); 
	glVertex3f (-10.0f, 10.0f, 0.0f);
glEnd ();		
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0);		
glutSwapBuffers();
glutPostRedisplay ();

(So, did I make some mistake there? anything i can improve?)