move model and light but model gets 'out' of light

Hi,

I’m fairly new to openGL and have a problem with the light and a model. The program searches for a face and then with points on the face it calculates a model. Each frame I reinitialize the light at the point where I draw a circle (right of the model). But when I move my head (and thus the model and light) it seems like the light doesn’t reach the model (on the left side) or that it light the entire model (on the right side). See a movie of screencaptures at http://staff.science.uva.nl/~aazcarat/openGL/
Does anyone know what the problem could be?

I already had a similar question in this post:
http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/…6143#Post256143
The files mentioned in this ‘old’ post are already removed.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Here is how I initialize the light:

float lightX = (minX + maxX)/2 + 150.0f;
float lightY = (minY + maxY)/2 + 0.0f;
float lightZ = (minZ + maxZ)/2 + 0.0f;
glEnable(GL_LIGHTING);
glEnable(GL_LIGHT0);
float noAmbient[] = {0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f};
float whiteDiffuse[] = {1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f};
float global_ambient[] = { 0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f, 1.0f };
glLightModelfv(GL_LIGHT_MODEL_AMBIENT, global_ambient);
float position[] = {lightX, lightY, lightZ, 1.0f};
float ambPos[] = {150.0f,0.0f,0.0f,1.0f};
glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_AMBIENT, noAmbient);
glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_DIFFUSE, whiteDiffuse);
glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_SPECULAR, whiteDiffuse);
glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_POSITION, position);

minX, maxX, minY, maxY, minZ and maxZ are the min and max coordinates values of the model

It almost looks as if light0 is set up as a spotlight. Your code seems to specify a omni-directional point light however.
I can’t tell what’s wrong without more code, but it looks like it is better to set up a directional light source to get what you want.

Here’s code to simulate typical outdoor sun-lighting:

const float p[4] = {-sunvec.x, -sunvec.y, -sunvec.z, 0.0};
glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_AMBIENT, ambient);