OpenGL rendering in Windows XP with multiple vide

I’m developing an OpenGL application for Windows XP. The target
machine has 2 NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT video cards, which are needed
because the application needs to have output 2 streams of analog
video.

The application itself has two OpenGL windows, one for each video
card. Each video card is connected to one monitor. As for the code,
it’s based on a minimal OpenGL example (http://www.opengl.org/
resources/code/samples/win32_tutorial/minimal.c).

How can I know if the application is utilizing both video cards for
rendering?

At the moment, I don’t care if the application only runs on Windows XP
or only with NVIDIA video cards, I just need to know how the two are
working.

It should be enough to create each window on each screen.
Throw a bunch of large textured polygons on screen and benchmark to be sure.
Have a look at the Nvidia display control panel, to check what option are availbale to you.
I have some experience with single-card dual-head rendering, in that case the best was the ‘span’ mode with full hardware acceleration.

On Windows, you can’t select a single GPU, other than using the GPU affinity extension, which is only available for QuadroFX cards.

More detail can be found at http://www.equalizergraphics.com/documentation/parallelOpenGLFAQ.html#multigpu

Thanks for your response…

@ZbuffeR
I have already tested my application with the machine specified above, and it works. I just want to know why and how.
Dual-head is not relevant to my question since I’m using a Single-head configuration for each of the cards.

@elie
Consider the fact that two monitors are connected, one for each GeForce card. Does this mean that the OpenGL rendering will occur only on one of the cards?

Do you see a big perf difference between single window and dual window ?

What options are available to you ? Of course I do not have the same setup as yours, that is why I am asking.