Assistance with programming ground and "Skyboxes"

Hello, I am Ocram and I am trying to program a 3D game and I want to start with a basic environment with a flat terrain a sky, and a skyline. I have a picture (3392x1728) to cover the entire terrain and a much smaller picture to repeat as a skyline. In games like City Life the skyline would be called a “Skybox” a flat picture in the background to show what is beyond the map, (like a mountain range).
I know how to open an OpenGL window and change its colors, how to draw a triangle and quad, how to give them color, how to make a triangle strip and other basics. I also have a relatively firm grasp on C++ so I know what I am doing. I do NOT have glaux because it is outdated. Sorry if I sound like a newbie because I am pretty new to OpenGL.

Mere is a picture demonstrating what I am trying to do.

I know that it is not very good, I made it in paint. I only showed two sides of the “skybox” because there will be no texture on the side facing away from the ground.

And your question is … ?

Do you know texturing ? In this case the ground is easy, textured quad and it is done. The skybox is easy too, to repeat the texture simply use larger texcoords to multiply the number of times needed.

Basic texture tutorial, with ultra simple file format to load :
http://www.nullterminator.net/gltexture.html

Well, it works good for the first 256x256 pixels and I thank you for that but texture I want for the ground is a rectangle with the dimensions being 3392x1728 pixels and I wish for each pixel to represent 25 cm so that the ground is 848x432 meters in game and then I would like to be able to eventually build upon that coding and allow 3D buildings to be built upon each colored rectangle (zone). Here is the picture to demonstrate what I mean (ground wise) Thank you for that link anyways, it helped a TON!