Starting out with OpenGL

I’m starting to learn OpenGL with the idea of making games. But getting to that point requires patience, time and practice.

My aim is to learn while also being able to hit as many platforms as possible since I usually work under Windows XP, but I’m considering to jump off to linux(Kubuntu) as some of my friends have done.

I have some knowledge of C++ and Java. Should I take one over the other for learning or developing? As far as I know, C++ performace is higher that Java, but is that performace hit really noticeable with today’s computers? Which one would you recomend for learning and for real development?

A drawback I see with C++ is portability… I know there are many multiplatform libraries for C++ to make the code behave equaly (or with very little changes) on a wide range of platform but they don’t come bundled with the language, you have to get them and compile them on your own.

With the release of OpenGL3.0, should I bother learning the old stuff from OpenGL 1.0-2.1? OpenGL3.0 is supposed to deprecate most, if not all, of the fixed pipeline? Is it worth investing time on learning it? Where should I start? Is there any site I can visit for OpenGL3.0 specific learning or an overall good start point?

Now that I’ve asked about multiplatform and OpenGL3.0, I know that exist windowing abstraction libraries (SDL, GLUT, GLUX, GLFW, etc) just for that porpuse… Anyone know if any of those libraries support OpenGL3.0 already? I know that LWJGL for Java have added OpenGL3.0 support already.

Any other starting tips or help is welcome. Thanks for any help you can offer.