Remote X Display using VBO and GLSL?

Hi all,

I’m a dev on an Windows/Linux app that uses VBOs and GLSL shaders. It seems that, to my dismay, these do not work with remote display (i.e. X tunnelling over SSH)

Is there a way to enable them? (i.e. Some Xorg extension?)

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Jon

SSH tunnels GL via GLX protocol over a virtual X connection it sets up between the client and the server. GLX is a serialization of OpenGL calls over the wire. This is the method used for an app to communicate with the server using an indirect rendering context (as opposed to a direct rendering context, where the GPU is in the same box and X is local – uses DRI on Linux). For more details, see the GLX protocol mentions here.

I guess at issue is whether some of the newer OpenGL features have been defined with new GLX protocol (to serialize them for indirect rendering contexts) in-tow. IIRC, they haven’t.

Here’s a mention from google:

ARB Meeting Notes, December 7-8, 2004:

WG has resolved ARB_draw_buffers, ARB_occlusion_query, and ARB_vertex_program / NV_vertex_program interactions. Remaining issues are protocol for shading language functions, and details of vertex buffer objects. Jon will assign new GLX opcodes for Ian out of the registry.

Problem with VBO protocol in the past was that the clientside GLX library converted them to immediate mode commands. We can’t do this when the data exists on the server side, however. Problems: array enables are not transferred to the server, because they’ve been considered client state only. DrawArrays protocol doesn’t encompass e.g. multitexture, and probably doesn’t encode enough information about enabled arrays. Also need support for the several additional array drawing commands that have been added to GL.

How to Create OpenGL Extensions:

If you want the extensions to work with the X windowing system (i.e., with GLX), then you must request GLX opcodes and define GLX protocol for it.