Track Mouse Position & Rotate Model To Angle?

Ok, I am using Win32 and programming in C++, no other API’s like GLUT/SDL is being used, only OpenGL and Win32 programming.

I am having a bit difficult time trying to sort out this problem, I am just learning Algebra basic, its not like I am in middle school, its just I was never thought how too do Algebra in my life…

What I am doing is trying to rotate a model too the position of the mouse cursor on the window.

What I have now is, that the model rotates back and forth 180 degrees when the mouse moves around it. So what I am thinking is that I mite be missing a ‘projection’ value from converting 3D cords to 2D.

This is my code:

POINT mousePosition;
		GetCursorPos(&mousePosition);

float rotate = abs((GLfloat)atan2((float)mousePosition.y-((float)m_iHeight/2),(float)mousePosition.x-((float)m_iWidth/2)))/Math::PI*180.0f; //ROTATE TO MOUSE

m_Player.SetRotation(rotate);

BTW Just a quick question about OpenGL and DirectX, I heard it’s bad to mix DirectX and OpenGL together, forgot why, but I was wondering if someone can tell me that it is or not. I just want to use DirectInput for OpenGL too use a Xbox controller.

Thanks, Andrew.

If I understood what you want to do, this needs gluUnproject to find the 3D ray matching the 2D mouse position, then interserct this ray with the sphere, then use this point as a quaternion source angle. Next mouse position, do the same, then rotate between these 2 quaternion angles. There are tutorials on the web for each of these steps so it is not as complex as it sounds.

About mixing DirectInput and OpenGL, it is perfectly possible, that is what idsoftware is using since a decade on windows. The downside is that this code is tied to windows, and often people using OpenGL do it for the crossplatform benefit.

If there are tutorials for this function there sure isn’t a lot of them.

I created this function: