Finding Normals for Analytic Surfaces

Hi All,

I’m new to OpenGL and am just now reading the RedBook. I’m having a problem to understand the algorythm for calculating normals (for analytic surfaces)in Appendix F.
Please do you know about some example maybe simpler explanation? (was having math but couple of years ago :p)

thanks in advance

First take the equation of a plane: ax + by + cz - d = 0, a,b,c and d are constant. To find the normal you need to calculate the gradient of the function. So N_x = df/dx = a,N_y = df/dy = b,N_z = df/dz = c. Then you have to normalize the result to have a unit length vector for correct lighting. So divide each component by the length of the result by sqrt(aa + bb + cc). Notice that the normal is independent of the position of the point on the plane.
For a sphere or ellipsoid ax² + by² + cz² - r² = 0. The value of unnormalized normal is: N_x = 2ax,N_y = 2by N_z = 2cz. Of course here the normal is dependent of the position of a vertex on the sphere. So for example take a sphere with the equation x² + y² + z² - 1 = 0 => a = b = c = r = 1, and a point p (1,0,0) the resulting unnormalized normal is N = (2
11,210,21*0) = (2,0,0).

thanks a lot but am still not 100% ‘in the game’.
As I understand than every polygon should have its own normal point. Am I right?

I have found following example. Can I use it?
//*******************************************************************
// Function: CalculateVectorNormal
//
// Purpose: Given three points of a 3D plane, this function calculates
// the normal vector of that plane.
//
// Parameters:
// fVert1[] == array for 1st point (3 elements are x, y, and z).
// fVert2[] == array for 2nd point (3 elements are x, y, and z).
// fVert3[] == array for 3rd point (3 elements are x, y, and z).
//
// Returns:
// fNormalX == X vector for the normal vector
// fNormalY == Y vector for the normal vector
// fNormalZ == Z vector for the normal vector
//
// Comments:
//
// History: Date Author Reason