PDA

View Full Version : Quick question about wglCreateContextAttribsARB



Kazade
10-15-2008, 12:30 PM
At the moment to get a GL3 context with the nVidia beta driver you need to first get a GL2 context and then use wglGetProcAddress to be able to create the GL3 one.

My question is, will that always be the case? I'm guessing so as wglGetProcAddress needs a context, I just want to make sure that - that is the correct way.

Korval
10-15-2008, 02:02 PM
My question is, will that always be the case?

Almost certainly. The ARB would have to write a new Windows interface to not require this, and that seems... unlikely.

Brolingstanz
10-15-2008, 11:40 PM
If you create a multisample/custom context you need a similar bootstrap to get at wglChoosePixelFormat - so if it needs to be said, this isn't really that much of a hardship beyond what a lot of folks are doing anyways.