Newbie camera problem

Hi people, I’m new here!

First, I say sorry for my bad english.

Well, I’m new with OpenglGL and I’m developing a little application as a research, using GLUT and Windows.

Going direct to the matter, I want to make a FPS (first person shooter) camera style and I’m using glulookat and biding the mouse “pointer” as the aim - I don’t know if this is the most acceptable option. But anyway, since the coordinates accepted in a Window for the pointer position (x, y) will never be lesser than 0, I can’t figure out on how I could make a 360 degrees camera style using glulookat bounded to mouse, like FPS games.

I.e., when I move the mouse near the left side of the window, the camera moves too, but as the X coordinate go tending to 0, I get to a time where I can’t continue moving the camera to the same side, because there is no more mouse move from 0 to 0.

My code is as follows:
[b]
void MouseMotion(int x,int y)
{

int w, h;

w = glutGet(GLUT_WINDOW_WIDTH);
h = glutGet(GLUT_WINDOW_HEIGHT);

Camera_Mira_X = x - w / 2;
Camera_Mira_Y = -(y - h / 2);

//I divided by 2 because I start the camera at origin, 0,0 and this is the middle of the window size.

}[/b]

My calling to glulookat (please, ignore Camera_Pos variables)

gluLookAt(Camera_Pos_X, 0.0, Camera_Pos_Z, Camera_Mira_X, Camera_Mira_Y, -100, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0);

I thank you very much since now.

Regards,
Guilherme.

Create callback for mouse position, use difference between position and screen center. Then warp cursor in center of screen. This way you never hit the edge of screen.

Thank you unsigned void…

I was just wondering how can I warp the cursor back to the center of the screen after any movement. I was thinking about this last night, but I couldn’t realize how to do that. Anyone could please help me how to warp the cursor back to the center?

Very big thank you!