OpenGl, Cocoa, 2D image

Hey, I’m new to Xcode and OpenGl, but I have been doing a lot of research and have realized that OpenGl is perfect or possibly overkill for the rpg I am trying to create.

Though, I ran into a problem that is so painstakingly simple that it isn’t in any of the Opengl manuals I could find.

I need to know how to stick a 2D image onto the OpenGl canvas from the image resources.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
-Gandolf

In fact it is very easy, but there is no real distinction between 3d and 2d stuff, that is why it may be hard to search for this :slight_smile:

In summary :
Use glOrtho with appropriate coordinates ranges (choose ranges which are easy for you to work with, typically same as window pixel coordinates). Draw a textured quad with appropriate dimensions.
If your image is power of two (like 128*256) or if your hardware supports the extension GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two, the texture coordinates will simply be in the [0,0 1,1] range. Otherwise see this post here for more details : http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=241773#Post241773

This tutorial is quite detailed, it may help too :
http://gpwiki.org/index.php/OpenGL:Tutorials:Tutorial_Framework:Ortho_and_Alpha

Don’t hesitate to ask for details if some parts are unclear or seem too complex.

I’ve noticed that it didn’t say the name of the sprite image in the wiki tut.

Does it name each image by a resource number? Like 128-Infinite?

-Gandolf

To clear up your confusion :

• texture “names” are in fact unique identifiers, typically each is a 32bits unsigned integer (range is 0 to 4.2billions). So it is more like an id than a name.
  • in the above tutorial, a pool of 128 different textures identifiers is generated :

GLuint Texture[128];
glGenTextures(128,Texture);
// now, Texture[i] contains the id for texture number i
// ...
// use it :
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D,Texture[Spr[index].Tex]);