Rotating GL_POINT_SPRITE_ARB

I am very new to programming in Opengl and have quite a problem in my entirely point based rendering engine. I am currently using point sprites to render vertices, but I am unhappy with the results. I am trying to figure out a way to create rotated sprites, so the result would be something like lower image:

Any ideas on what approach I should take? I do not know if it is possible to rotate a point sprite, since it is made of only one vertex - I presume that new vertices are not generated for vertex shading stage.

Point sprites can not be rotated.
Intead a solution could be to send, for each ‘sprite’ center, 4 vertices for a quad, along with normal/tangent/binormal. Then the vertex shader can expand the 4 vertices to form the sprite quad lying on the surface. Make it look round with an alpha texture.

You also can simply apply an alpha texture on the point sprites.

Or, of if you can use geometry shaders, send only one vertex per point along with normal and tangent(stuff it in the texture coordinates), then in the geometry shader you extract the binormal using the normal and tangent, finally just create new vertics using the tangent and binormal.

To make the sprites look round, yes.
But the OP seem to want the make sprites tangent to the surface.

the way to draw non-rotated circular sprites is:
varying vec3 center2D; // in screen-space
varying float radius;
void main(){
float dist = distance(gl_FragCoord.xy,center2D.xy/center2D.w);
if(radius<dist)discard; // hit-tests a circle
gl_FragColor = vec4(0.5,0.5,0.5,1);
}

For a “rotated” sprite, you’ll need to hit-test a rotated ellipse. This will involve the normal-vector somehow. (I can’t help with the maths there)
Maybe it’ll be easiest to do raycasting?

Geometry shaders make the geometric approach eazy, but it’ll cost you the price of a new card (who cares!).