Manual modification of texture pixel data.

Hello.

First of, let me say im a beginner with OpenGL.

What im trying to do is to render to target texture, then modify its pixels. From what i gather, for rendering to texture i need to use frame buffer object, and for texture modification - pixel buffer object. To be honest, im overwhelmed by all the information i need to gather and understand, wish there was some kind of tutorial for all this, but i guess ill manage.

What im really confused about is how to use PBO for modifying textures. The only reference ive found so far is this: http://www.songho.ca/opengl/gl_pbo.html#unpack
What i dont understand is how to copy pixels from texture to buffer, and how to actually modify said pixels while theyre in PBO.

Im also not sure how to copy pixel data from buffer to texture. Am i right thinking that i just need to use glTexSubImage2D, using pointer to the target of PBO from glBindBufferARB for const GLvoid *pixels parameter?

To update parts of the texture use glTexSubImage. It does not matter if you use PBO or not: the first may provide better performance in many cases. Using buffer objects is very simple: if a buffer is bound to an appropriate target (like PIXEL_UNPACK_BUFFER) then the data argument of the dependent functions (like TexSubImage), usualy pointer, is treated as an integer offset. So using buffer objects is a two-stage procedure: first you load the data into the buffer, then you copy it to the texture. But: you don’t really need to use PBO for modifying the texture, a simple client-side update may be enough. You will have to find the approach mst suitable to you. My advice would be to implement the simplest algorithm first (without the PBO) and then improve it gradually.

Thanks for answering.

Ill be honest, that didnt help much, i have even more questions now. I did mention im a beginner =)

Okay, so how do i modify pixels of a texture at runtime (every frame, to be exact) without PBO?