Intel X3100 Graphic cards and OpenGL

Hi all,
I’m totally new to OpenGL and I’m going to buy a laptop to begin studying computer graphics programming. The laptop I want to buy has an Intel X3100 graphics card.
My friends tell me that X3100 only supports OpenGL 1.5 while the current version of OpenGL is 2.1.
I wonder if an Intel X3100 graphics card is enough to study?

Thanks.

I would say no.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_GMA#Table_of_GMA_graphics_cores_and_chipsets

No GLSL support means you will have to do things the old hard way :frowning:

Which means no…

Maybe with this hardware it’s better to start with Direct3D 10 which is supported I guest.

The issue with OpenGL if “just” that drivers are not ready and never will be.

Nvidia mobile cards are actually really good at OpenGL.

X3100 supports vertex, geometry and fragment shaders as it is an unified stream processing architecture. It is another question if Intel drivers are on pair, though. I must say, it work rather well with my MacBook — the performance is horrible of course, but OpenGL 2.0 is supported with many of the latest extensions; and I could play WoW on a 1600x1000 screen with 30-40fps if I wanted to :slight_smile:

I’ve never understood how Intel is on the ARB and yet their drivers are so backwards. Intel even wrote a marketing type article which appeared on gamedev about how great their X3100 is for gaming, which received complaints because it was marketing.

I suggest getting something with Gf 8400, 8600, 8800
One day, Intel will make better drivers and will all switch to their graphics :slight_smile:

Thanks all, how about NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M?
As in http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=nvidia_140m&num=1 , this card supports OpenGL 2.1 and it’s quite good.

My advice: get a notebook with a 8600gts