render to vertex buffer

Hello,

I’m currently using ReadPixels to copy some data from a fbo attachment texture to a vbo, bound as PIXEL_PACK_BUFFER (nullifying the previous contents each time). Is there any faster way (with no copy) to do this with the latest extensions / HW ?

I’ve searched around the web for any recent references, but with no luck, so I’m wondering if the above is still the way to do it.

Thanks,
babis

Nvidia has the GL_EXT_transform_feedback extension

AFAIK copying the FBO data to a VBO using a PBO like you said is still the best option for now.

Thanks Zengar, I completely forgot that!

@Nico :
Shouldn’t transform feedback with GL_RASTERIZER_DISCARD_NV be way faster? Without considering compatibility issues,that is.

Doesn’t the transform feedback record vertex attributes only? My guess was that you wanted to reinterpret the rgba color data in the FBO as xyzw vertex components (or other attributes) in a VBO.
I have limited experience with transform feedback so correct me if I’m wrong :slight_smile:

The spec says that it can also record varyings from vertex/geometry shaders, which seems -almost- just as good, haven’t tried it out yet though.

If I understand correctly, you’re currently rendering computational data into a framebuffer for use as vertex data? If this is the case, then you’ll definitely want to check out transform feedback - it’s awesome. :smiley:

You are correct, the only problem with this approach is that I cannot use a quad for computing + fetching 2d samplers, since any to-be-returned data must be specified in the vertex/geometry shader.
Rendering the quad as points & fetching stuff from a TBO could be a workaround, but it would be slow I guess for a big quad.
But I guess the good point is that there are sooo many options :slight_smile:

Indeed, that was my point exactly. I’m also rendering my data to the FBO using a single full screen quad and calculating the output in the fragment shader…