unable to see 3D images

Greetings Group,

I am a software engineer, I have chosen 3D visualisation as a career some times back Where
OpenGL Programming is used intensively. Recently I came to know I have an eye disease
called amblyopia in one eye so that I am not able to see 3D images.

Will I be able to do 3D graphics programming?
Can I be able to chose 3D graphics as a career?

Can you suggest me on that.

I will really appreciate a guidance at this moment since I am very much and strongly
interested in Computer graphics and visualization. But also don’t want to limit my career
because of this eye disability.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Profound Regards,
Suma

If I understood what is “amblyopia in one eye”, it means you only have monocular vision. So that why doctors says “you can’t see 3D images”. But in 3D graphics programming, it is quite rare to really work with stereoscopic displays. That would be the only case were your disability will cause trouble. So avoid things like autostereo displays, LCD shutter glasses, anaglyph stereo, polarized stereo, stereo head mounted displays, and such.

For example, 100% of the 3D games work with monocular displays. Only a handful provide options for stereo graphics.

Stereo graphics seems more present in the professional visualization industry, but I am not an insider of the field.

I have the same problem as you and i do 3D graphics for many years now. It is really no problem. A few days ago i extended a program to do stereo-rendering. It works perfectly, as i am told. I don’t see the effect, for me there is no difference to normal monoscopic rendering, but people do stand in front of the projector and try to “grab” the items in the world because “it feels so real”.