Very large crowd visualization,Higher level librar

Hello,

I am a researcher in modeling and simulation field. unfortunately I have always been ignorant about visualization of my work and therefore I have always done it in 2D without OpenGL or DirectX.

Now I am trying to do it in 3D using OpenGL.

Question: I have a very large crowd of up to 10,000-100,000 pedestrians (every one doing something). This happens inside a stadium or a big building. Now I want to visualize the simulated data (no simulation delay, just reading positions and action types from file or network).

What higher level OpenGL library (preferably in C++ or Java) can do my job?

People have frightened me of the complexities of doing everything myself using bare OpenGL (because I prefer to put more time on research than implementation).

I appreciate any other advice.

Regards, Mac

Although I think it’s overhyped, the numbers you’re talking about suggest that you may benefit from using Massive for visualization.

http://massivesoftware.com/

there’s also CrowdIT:

http://www.crowdit.worldofpolygons.com/

There are other free options like BlenderPeople

http://www.harkyman.com/bp.html

Many of these systems probably overlap with your simulation since they are primarily simulation engines integrated with rendering packages, but you could probably either plug in your own AI and use their existing rendering integration or use them as a model for your own integration work with an existing rendering package.