GL_EXT_convolution 'red' book tease

I’m new to OpenGL though I’ve been reading the ‘red’ book (published in 2006) for a while.

I have a basic GLUT image display program running on Win XP built with a Borland 6 compiler. I have been writing code in C for nearly twenty years. I’m developing on a Win XP machine with a mid-range NVIDIA graphics card but the work will ultimately run on XP and the Intel 945 graphics chipset which supports OpenGL 1.4.

There several questions that I have:

[1] It seems that no graphics cards support GL_EXT_convolution why is this?
[2] Neither are AUX_buffers supported, why?
[3] Should I use GLU 1.3 alongside the Microsoft OpenGL 1.1 dll ?
[4] Why is GLU 1.3 not available directly from the OpenGL/Khronos website?

I’ve found the OpenGL Extensions viewer from realtech-vr helpful. The ‘red’ book seems a bit of a tease if many of the documented extensions are not implemented on any actual hardware.

I’m beginning to gather that old extensions and old features that have never been implemented are not declared ‘obsolete’, though they wouldn’t have to be deleted as such. As a result a new user, such as me, can be misled into thinking these features are active.

The GL_EXT_convolution extension would have been useful as a general computational feature for the GPU to perform. It seems a straightforward facility without needing to get into the complexity of shaders. Perhaps a modern CPU can crunch a convolution faster than a GPU and that makes the facility obsolete?

Clive.

In my experience using a shader is much faster than the CPU (and even faster when using CUDA, since it gives you access to shared memory). I guess they figured that since convolutions can already be done with shaders, there is no need for an HW accelerated convolution extension.