OpenGL 3.0 and picking

Hi All,
I’m a Developer of a CAD Software House.
In our CAD, like most CAD, we need to pick all entites under the cursor, not only the topmost (so the colour picking don’t works fine for us). We always used old deprecated GL_SELECT render method, but in new OpenGL 3.0 this feature will be cancelled.

We have to create a self-made picking like line-box3d intersection, or exist an “hardware accelerated” solution ?

Thanks for help :slight_smile:

You can use occlusion query results to find if any pixel of your rendered geometry has been inside a picking rectangle.
You just need to setup occlusion queries for the individual objects you want to pick and render them in a mode where they are not depth tested against each other.
The occlusion query results will tell you which objects where inside your selection rectangle.
This will only work for primitives which actually render geometry, e.g. triangles which do not hit a raster point will fall through the cracks. If that is a problem you could render the geometry in two passes, the second with points, because points will always render.

This is a good method, thank you.
Probably we can use the occlusion instead make always a depth buffer query, because we also need the Z-Order of entities.

In that case it would be recommended to use a stencil routed algorithm with a multi sampling render target. Each pass captures one layer per sample. It is limited by the number of stencil bits. A 8 bit Stencilbuffer would be able to capture up to 255 layers (in 16 passes with a 16x MS rendertarget). The results are ordered in drawing order.
Unfortunately this can’t be implemented with the current version of OpenGL, because there is no extension to access the samples without a mixing down blitt.