How do you write "bulletproof" OpenGL apps?

I’m still pretty new to OpenGL.

My app, a high performance fractal renderer for Macintosh called FractalWorks, creates large polygon meshes, and saves them to VRAM as a display list. (the meshes are created using triangle strips.)

The meshes can be arbitrarily large. I support the option to render a very large view of the mesh to disk as a JPEG or TIFF, and have figured out a way to save arbitrary-sized images without running out of VRAM. (By rendering a series of tiles sized to the current window frame and stitching them together in main memory.)

My app currently crashes if the user tries to render a fractal that has too many vertices. That’s unacceptable.

I need a way to figure out how big a mesh a user’s computer will be able to handle, so I can put up a polite message if they try to create a 3D view of a fractal that’s too big.

How do I estimate the amount of VRAM that my display list takes to build and render, and what’s a good rule of thumb for how much of total system VRAM I can use without bringing down the machine?

I’m thinking that I could count the number of vertexes I submit, times 3 for the x, y, and z component, times the size of a float, plus 4 bytes for the color of each vertex (RGBA).

I’d like to have 2 messages that I tell the user, depending on how much of VRAM the image will use up.

The first would be something like this: “Your image is quite large. Creating a 3D view will slow down your computer. Would you like to proceed?”

The second would say something like this: “Your image is too large to render in 3D on this computer. Try rendering it on a computer with more video memory.”

Also, would I be able to render a larger mesh (albeit more slowly) by NOT creating a display list, but just submitting the triangle strips directly? It’s my understanding that when you draw directly, the commands are issued from main memory, not VRAM.