function display

Hi guys, probably is a stupid question but…is it possible to call the fuction display if it isn’t in the same class of glutDisplayFunc? I mean, is it possible:

class A:

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
	glutInitWindowSize(30,30);
	glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_RGBA | GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_DEPTH);
	glutInit(&argc, argv);
	glutCreateWindow("example");
	glutDisplayFunc(display);
return 0;
}

class B:

static void display(void)
{
do something..
}

Try it and see. I don’t know why you’d introduce that complexity, but any “function pointer” type object taking no args should do (a static method qualifies; an instance method doesn’t). Only question is whether C++ typing will get in your way.

Hi arthas,
I am sure,Its possible. It works.

it doesn’t work to me :frowning: . I tried to declare in the main:

extern void display(display);

I tried to create an header file, but it doesn’t work too… i’m a newbie, but i think that the problem is the definition of the function display. when the program is all in one file, there isn’t the problem, but when I split it, the compiler expect a definition of it, that there isn’t… But I don’t know how to write it! anyone knows how to solve the problem?

Hi arthas,
Can you post what error your getting, its much better if u can post your buildlog file.

in the file main.cpp:

extern void display(void);

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
	glutInitWindowSize(30,30);
	glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_RGBA | GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_DEPTH);
	glutInit(&argc, argv);
	glutCreateWindow("example");
	glutDisplayFunc(display);

return 0;}

and in the file draw.cpp(same path and project):

static void display(void)
{
  .. draws the scene..
}

the build log is:

Linking…
main.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol “void __cdecl display(void)” (?display@@YAXXZ) referenced in function _main
C:…Program.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals