Best choices in OpenGL for Dynamic Meshes?

[b]
Hi. (Sorry this is so long.)

I’m new to OpenGL, & I’m seeking advice on choosing the best methods of doing everything. First of all, I plan on using C#, & GL 3.0+ (even if I have to p/invoke the bindings myself before Tao/OpenTK does it…) I figure that once I’m finished with my project, that it will be reasonable to require the people using it to have a video card / driver that supports GL3… So if anyone could tell me, I need to know what design choices would be best to base my architecture off of that would be easy to migrate to GL3 to take advantage of it over the current “build a wrapper around the state machine” approach. I’ve looked at many useless tutorials that teach you how to code something in GL 1.1, & some in 2.1, but I find that unfortunately most tutorials focus on making sure the code is easy to understand, rather then actually showing you the most efficient way of doing something & I couldn’t find much speculation on tutorials for openGL 3…

I am probably going to be drawing a lot of triangle strips in realtime with dynamically generated vertexes, building terrain systems, particle systems, probably going to design procedurally generated animations, rag doll physics, rigid body physics, etc… I’m probably going to be updating some of this information from a server in real-time. My point being that I’m going to be dealing with a lot of dynamic influences, I’m not going to be rendering much in the way of static meshes…

Are these wise choices?

VBO vs. Indexed Array: I herd GL3 is going to be more based on VBOs then plain old indexed arrays, but I also herd that VOBs are slower to write to then arrays, so are they the best choice for very dynamic meshes? I’ll explain more about the format I’m going to be rendering later… I herd immediate mode is as slow as hell, & will probably be more of a legacy thing then anything else in GL3…