A freeglut error: Unable to create direct context

Hi, guys!

I recieve the following error from freeglut each time i run a very simple program:

Unable to create direct context rendering for window 'My First OpenGL Application For Linux'

I’m new to linux and i just set up all things needed for development with OpenGL. The program i mentioned has the following code:

#include <stdlib.h>
#include <GL/glut.h>
#include <GL/glu.h>
#include <GL/gl.h>

void display(void) {
 glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
 glFlush();
}

int main(int argc, char **argv) {
 glutInit(&argc,argv);
 glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_SINGLE|GLUT_RGBA);
 glutInitWindowPosition((1280-500)/2,(1024-500)/2);
 glutInitWindowSize(500,500);
 glutCreateWindow("My First OpenGL Application For Linux");
 glutDisplayFunc(display);

glClearColor(0.0f,0.0f,1.0f,1.0f);

glutMainLoop();
 return 0;
}

Despite the error message the program works fine but i guess it would work slow if it makes something more complex))

I hope you know how to work around this and will share your knowledge with me.

best reguards
Jay I

looks like you don’t have a hardware accelerated OpenGL driver.
For nvidia, go to their website, they have a good driver for linux.
For ATI/AMD, they should have one too.
Intel is said to be easily included in linux distribs.

What is your video card ?

thanks for your advice. now i’m downloading source files for my kernel to compile kernel interface for the driver. it’s about 150 Mb so i need to wait before i can get some result)). I’ll post my results here when i’m done. So just wait.

P.S. my video card is a built-in GeForce 6150