phong shading

hi. i’m a newbie of opengl and GLSL. i’m writing a phong shader but it don’t work. Light type would be directional. Can you segnale me where i’m wrong, please? Thanks

(sorry for my bad english :slight_smile: )

vertex:

varying vec3 normal,lightDir; 
varying vec3 vertexPosition;

uniform vec3 ucLightDir;
uniform vec4 ucLightAmbient,ucLightDiffuse,ucLightSpecular;

void main() { 

normal = normalize(gl_NormalMatrix * gl_Normal);

vertexPosition = (gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix * gl_Vertex).xyz;

lightDir=ucLightDir;

gl_TexCoord[0] = gl_MultiTexCoord0;

//transform vertices
gl_Position = ftransform(); 

} 

Fragment:

uniform gl_LightSourceParameters gl_LightSource[gl_MaxLights];
uniform gl_LightModelParameters gl_LightModel;

varying vec3 normal;
varying vec3 lightDir;
varying vec3 vertexPosition;

uniform vec4 ucLightAmbient,ucLightDiffuse,ucLightSpecular;
uniform sampler2D tex;

//fragment shader
void main()
{

vec4 ambient,diffuse,specular;

//normalizing
vec3 nNormal   = normalize (  normal  );
vec3 nLightDir = normalize ( lightDir );

//DIFFUSE TERM

float lambertTerm = dot(nNormal,nLightDir);
//clamp 0-1 range
lambertTerm = max(lambertTerm,0.0);

diffuse = gl_FrontMaterial.diffuse * ucLightDiffuse * lambertTerm;

//AMBIENT TERM

vec4 lightAmbient  = ucLightAmbient * gl_FrontMaterial.ambient;
vec4 globalAmbient = gl_LightModel.ambient * gl_FrontMaterial.ambient;
ambient = lightAmbient + globalAmbient;

//SPECULAR TERM

if(lambertTerm>0.0) {
	vec3 eye = normalize (vertexPosition);

vec3 reflectionVec = reflect(-nLightDir, normal);
	reflectionVec = normalize(reflectionVec);
	vec3 halfVector = vec3(eye+nLightDir);

float RdotE = max( dot (nNormal,halfVector) , 0.0);
	specular = gl_FrontMaterial.specular * ucLightSpecular * pow( RdotE , gl_FrontMaterial.shininess);

} //if(cosine>0.0) {

vec4 texel = texture2D(tex,gl_TexCoord[0].xy);

//set color
gl_FragColor = (diffuse + ambient + specular ) ;

}