Basic vertex transformations

I am very new to glsl and am trying to get some basic applications written to get the general idea of how a glsl program works. Currently I am doing a simple shader where I stretch an object (a torus in this case) by applying a scale to its vertices. However I can’t seem to get it working correctly and this problem has brought to my attention a few other questions I have pertaining to vertex and fragment shaders in general.

First of all this is the shader I am using to perform the vertex transforms (this is based on an example from the OpenGL SuperBible)–

// light position used for lighting calculations
uniform vec3 lightPos0;
uniform vec3 color;
uniform vec3 squashStretch;

void main()
{
   // glPosition is a built in variable that stores the output vertex position.
   // Here we multiply the object space vertex (gl_Vertex) by the model view
   // projection matrix to transform the vertex to clip space.

vec4 stretchCoord = gl_Vertex;
   stretchCoord.xyz *= squashStretch;

vec4 clipCoord = gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix * stretchCoord;

// copy the clip space coordinates into our position   
   gl_Position = clipCoord;

vec3 stretchedNormal = gl_Normal;
   stretchedNormal *= squashStretch;

// Let there be light!
   vec3 N = normalize(gl_NormalMatrix * stretchedNormal);
   vec3 V = gl_ModelViewMatrix * stretchCoord;
   vec3 L = normalize(lightPos0 - V.xyz);
   vec3 H = normalize(L + vec3(0.0, 0.0, 1.0));

// specular contribution
   //const float spec = 128.0;

// calculate the diffuse lighting
   float NdotL = dot(N, L);
   vec4 diffuse = gl_Color * vec4(max(0.0, NdotL));

// calculate the specular component
   float NdotH = max(0.0, dot(N, H) * 8.0 - 7.0);
   gl_TexCoord[0] = vec4(NdotH, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);

gl_FrontColor = diffuse;

// calculate normalized device coords
   vec3 ndc = clipCoord.xyz / clipCoord.w;

// map from (-1, 1) to (0, 1) before outputting
   vec3(gl_SecondaryColor) = (ndc * 0.5) + 0.5;	
}