A vp means rewrite all functions in vertex transformation stage?

I’m a beginner in OGSL, I don’t understand the following extraction from the OGSL Tutorial in http://www.lighthouse3d.com/opengl/glsl/index.php?vertexp. Does it mean if I want to use vp/fp to improve the light source shading, I can’t use OpenGL fixed functions to do texture mapping at the same time, and have to rewrite it in OGSL too?
Anybody can help to answer? Thank you!

“Once you write a vertex shader you are replacing the full functionality of the vertex processor, hence you can’t perform normal transformation and expect the fixed functionality to perform texture coordinate generation.
When a vertex shader is used it becomes responsible for replacing all the needed functionality of this stage of the pipeline.”

"As in the vertex processor, when you write a fragment shader it replaces all the fixed functionality. Therefore it is not possible to have a fragment shader texturing the fragment and leave the fog for the fixed functionality. The programmer must code all effects that the application requires. "

If you’re concerned about correct texture mapping and you’re only using a vertex program, simply pass the texture coordinates to the correct interpolants.

MOV result.texcoord[0], vertex.texcoord[0]
MOV result.texcoord[n], vertex.texcoord[n]

On the other hand if you’re using fragment program, then you need to manually fetch your texture fragment via TEX, TXP, TXB.

Edit: ooops, you’re talking about shaders, not programs, this is how you do it:

gl_TexCoord[0] = gl_MultiTexCoord0;
gl_TexCoord[n] = gl_MultiTexCoordn;

Now regarding texture mapping in the fragment shader, you need to declare Samplers corresponding to your targets type and then use the appropriate texture{2D|3D|Cube|Rect} to fetch your values.

It seems there’s no way to improve the light source shading only using OGSL without touching the texture mapping part.