Drawing points held in a text file

Hi,

I am trying to write an application that displays a 3D cube that can display points plotted within it, like a scatterplot. I am using OpenGL with MFC c++ although I am new to OpenGL, and relatively new to MFC. I have my 3D cube rendered to the screen and can rotate it with the mouse however I am having problems displaying the data points within the cube. I have tried using the Serialize function in MFC to get the coordinates from the text file and transferring them from variables into glVertex3f() however does not seem to work!

Is there a structure, array …, available in OpenGl that will handle this for me or a more appropriate one in c++ that is compatible with glVertex3f()?

Any help would be much appreciated as I am really stuck with this.

Thanks in advance for assistance.

you can’t read your points (not an opengl problem) or you can’t see them in your 3D view ?

if second one, a simple version to display your points can be:

glBegin(GL_POINTS);
glColors3f(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f);
for (i = 0; i < nbPoints; i++)
{
  glVertex3f(points[3*i], points[3*i+1], points[3*i+2]);
}
glEnd();

and how is your cube displayed ? wire ?

The main problem is that I cannot view my points. I have now read them into a struct S_COORD{float x,y,z}; in the CDoc Serialize()
and have a pointer to the CView renderScene()and AddPoints() in the CDoc Serialize()

My cube is not a wireCube I have drawn the x,y,z axis with straight lines and the remainder of the cube with stripples. CView RenderScene() calls a function stereoscopic() which sets the left and right eye perspective of the cube and calls the function to draw the cube. My cube displays ok although I think I might have to fine tune it a bit as when I rotate it and then enlarge the screen and do further rotations with the mouse parts of the cube leave the client area, but other than that I am not having a problem displaying it or rotating it.