PDA

View Full Version : NURBS object



Cacks
03-23-2006, 08:55 PM
Hi guys,

I can render i single NURBS surface. But I now want to render a cube, each side being a NURBS surface. Can I pass 1 control grid to the gluNURBS function or would I have to create 6 different NURBS srfaces and join them together? would that leave a 'hard' edge where the surfaces join?

Thanks for any advise given.

Silkut
05-14-2006, 07:28 AM
This is not a trivial-beginner question you know..
look at here (http://www.rush3d.com/reference/opengl-redbook-1.1/chapter11.html)
"advanced" ;) (nah it's not a proof I know)

But I guess you'll rapidly get some interesting answers on advanced coding topics.

Good luck !

Rob The Bloke
06-16-2006, 11:14 PM
Originally posted by Cacks:
But I now want to render a cube, each side being a NURBS surface. Can I pass 1 control grid to the gluNURBS function or would I have to create 6 different NURBS srfaces and join them together? would that leave a 'hard' edge where the surfaces join?well, you need to render 6 surfaces and it will always leave a hard join at the edges. Thats nurbs limitations for you. You can re-use a single control grid though, you just need to use glRotate* and glTranslate* to position the sides in the correct place.