C code working in Linux but not in Windows

hey there
i just loaded my C code i have been working on in linux into my home visual 6 studio and i cant get my code to compile
i have set up the linking properly and it finds gl.h and the definition for typedef int GLint;
but it says that ‘GLint CirclePoints = 60;’
is an illegal use of this type as an expression
if anyone could help me that would be great

I’ve never seen the like. Where is that expression located: GLint CirclePoints = 60 ?

#include <Gl\glut.h>
#include <math.h>
#define PI 3.14159
void display(void)
{
int i = 0;
float angle;
/* clear window */
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
GLint CirclePoints = 60;
etc…
if you need more info i can post the whole program…also i am a newbie at openGl so go easy :slight_smile:

I’ll bet that your header is not visible from your source file.

Don’t forget this:
#include <GL/gl.h>

hey there portal
i loaded my code onto a web page because i still cant get it working
have a look at it at www.geocities.com/bernief_1982/index.html
cheers

If the compiler is complaining about an undefined type, then you know what the problem is: it can’t see the header - it’s that simple.
GLint, and all the other basic GL types are defined in gl.h.

edit:
try this:
#include <windows.h>
#include <GL\gl.h>
#include <GL\glut.h>

the compiler is just complaining about an illegal use of the type
it finds the definition in gl.h fine but still doesnt like the code
thats the problem im having

Bernie_82, if there’s something wrong with your code, it’s not immediately obvious to me what it is. What exactly is the compiler telling you?

This is exactly what its telling me.
You can see how it finds the declaration of GLint
thats why i find it weird that it wont work

C:\main.c(13) : error C2275: ‘GLint’ : illegal use of this type as an expression

d:\program files\microsoft visual studio\vc98\include\gl\gl.h(48) : see declaration of ‘GLint’