Object-Oriented

I am a DirectX programmer who has been trying out OpenGL for a week. For 95% of my programming, I organize my code into classes and interfaces because they show how data and functions relate to eachother. I think that OpenGL should be organized into interfaces (ie., abstract base classes) similarly to how Direct3DRM is organized - with viewport objects, scene objects, frame objects, mesh objects, light objects, etc.

The philosophy behind OpenGL is just an abstraction over the graphics hardware. What you’re advocating is a framework, which is meant to sit ON TOP of the h/w.

cheers,
John

Agree with John. I use C++ pretty much exclusively, and like you I organize almost all my code into classes. But I wouldn’t ever want to see OpenGL become a retained-mode API.

As John said, OpenGL is a hardware abstraction; with its strongly orthogonal design it’s more like an instruction set for a graphical VM than a “normal” API. This flexibility lets you mix and match primitive operations to achieve functionality that the original designers never expected - from stencil shadows to Life to volume CSG to Voronoi diagrams to audio mixing (!) to Renderman shader compilers…

When you move to a C++ design most of that flexibility disappears; it’s the price you pay for encapsulation. If you want a C++ wrapper, fine. There are any number of them out there (including Inventor, which has just been open sourced). If they don’t quite fit, write your own; it’s a fairly trivial exercise, and you can make sure it does what you need it to. The “one size fits all” mentality of D3DRM is never going to be satisfactory to a large proportion of gfx programmers.